Main

October 05, 2008

This Week

Monday, October 6 - US Supreme Court begins its 2008/09 term. The Court will hear arguments in Altria Group v. Good (federal preemption of state trort claims against tobacco manufacturers), Locke v. Karass (unions, non-mmber agency fees for litigation expenses) and Vaden v. Discover Bank (federal court jurisdiction re: state law arbitration claims). The Court will also release an order list from its conference of Sept. 29.
Monday, October 6 10:00 am - Nevada Supreme Court en banc oral arguments
Monday, October 6 3:00 pm - Nevada Supreme Court public hearing on proposed changes to the NRAPs

Tuesday October 7 - Nevada Supreme Court en banc oral arguments (schedule not yet released)
Tuesday October 7 - U.S. Supreme Court hears arguments in Herring v. U.S. (supression based upon faulty info. from another law enforcement agency), Arizona v. Gant (warrantless search of a car whose occupant was recently arrested and threat to safety requirement), Kennedy v. Plan Adm. for Dupont Savings (divorcing spouses and ERISA).

Wednesday October 8 - U.S. Supreme Court hears argument in Winter v. NRDC (navy and whales), Summers v. Earth Island Institute (forest service regulations), Crawford v. Nashville (Ttitle VII and retaliation in investigation of sexual harassment claims)

Thursday October 9 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

September 29, 2008

This Week

Monday, September 29 - U.S. Supreme Court holds its opening conference for the term

Tuesday, September 30 - U.S. Supreme Court is expected to release orders from its Monday conference

Wednesday, October 1 - Comments due re: proposed NRAP changes
Wednesday, October 1 - 12:00 - NACJ Board Meeting, Federal Public Defender's Office

Thursday, October 2 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day
Thursday, October 2 1:30 - State Bar CLE: Seven Keys to Ethical Communication (Las Vegas)

Friday, October 3 1:30 - State Bar CLE: Seven Keys to Ethical Communication (Reno)

September 22, 2008

This Week

Monday, September 22 - Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice. You can listen or watch via the internet.

Thursday, September 25 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

September 15, 2008

This Week

Thursday, September 18 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Thursday September 18 12:00 - Clark County Bar Association Luncheon - Q & A w/ contested Supreme Court and 8th Judicial District Court Candidates

Friday, September 19 1:00 - Clark County Bar Association CLE. 5th Annual Ethical Issues: 10 More Things You Should Know.

September 07, 2008

This Week

Wednesday September 10 - Nevada Supreme Court panel argument

Thursday September 11- Nevada Supreme Court panel argument
Thursday September 11 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day
Thursday September 11 - Boyd School of Law presents a lecture by Daniel Schorr, NPR Senior News Analyst. Open to the public.

Friday September 12 - Nevada Supreme Court panel argument

September 01, 2008

This Week

Monday September 1 - Labor Day Holiday

Tuesday September 2 - Nevada Supreme Court oral arguments (en banc)

Wednesday September 3 - Nevada Supreme Court oral arguments (en banc)
Wednesday September 3 - NACJ Board Meeting 12:00 p.m. Federal Public Defender's Office

Thursday September 4 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Friday September 5 2:00 - Indigent Defense Commission. Reports on Weighted Case Studies, Revised Performance Standards, and Rural Issues Subcommittee. Carson City w/ video-conferencing to the 17th floor of the RJC in Las Vegas.

August 25, 2008

This Week

Monday August 25 9:00 a.m. Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice. Listen or watch here.

Thursday August 28 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

August 18, 2008

This week

Monday August 18 9:00 a.m. Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice. Agenda. Watch or listen.

Wednesday August 20 10:00 a.m. Nevada Supreme Court oral argments

Thursday August 21 Classes start at Boyd School of Law

Thursday August 21 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

August 10, 2008

This Week

Monday August 11 1:00 Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice's Subcommittee to Consider Issues Related to a Study of "Truth in Sentencing." You can listen or watch the session via the Legislature's website.

Tuesday August 12 1:00 Board of State Prison Commissioners Meeting

Thursday August 14 Nevada Supreme Court opinion relese day

Thursday August 14 Halverson Judicial Discipline Hearing

Friday August 15 Halverson Judicial Discipline Hearing

August 04, 2008

This Week

Monday August 4 9:00 a.m. Judicial Discipline Commission Hearing re: Judge Halverson

Tuesday August 5 9:00 a.m. State Bar CLE on Advanced Evidence in Reno
Tuesday August 5 - deadline for candidate reports on donations and expenses

Wednesday August 6 12:00 pm NACJ Board Meeting Federal Public Defender's Office

Thursday August 7 Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Friday August 8 9:00 a.m. State Bar CLE on Advanced Evidence in Las Vegas

July 28, 2008

This Week

Monday July 28 State Bar Examination Registration

Tuesday - Thursday, July 29-31 - Nevada July 2008 State Bar Examination

Wednesday July 30 9:30 Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice's Subcommittee on Juvenile Justice

Thursday July 31 Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Friday, August 1 Specialty Court Funding Commission

Early primary election voting takes place all week:

Clark County locations

Washoe County locations

Other locations

July 21, 2008

This Week

Tuesday July 22nd - Nevada Supreme Court panel conference

Tuesday July 22nd 8:00 a.m. - Judicial Selection Commission interviews (open to the public for the first time)

Thursday July 24th - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Thursday July 24th 1:30 p.m. - Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice Steering Committee.

Friday July 25th 9:00 a.m. - Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice's Subcommittee to Study Mandatory Drug Sentencing Statutes and Substantial Assistance Statute.

Legislative meetings may be heard or viewed via the Legislature's website.

July 14, 2008

This Week

Monday July 14th --Nevada Supreme Court En Banc Arguments - arguments begin at 10 a.m. and are available via webcast

Tuesday July 15th -- Nevada Supreme Court EB Conference

Thursday July 17th -- Nevada Supreme Court Opinion Release

July 07, 2008

This week

Monday July 7 9:00 a.m. - Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice (webcast available)

Tuesday July 8 2:00 p.m. - Implementation of Courts of Chancery Hearing.

Tuesday July 8 12:00 p.m. - Board of State Prison Commissioners Meeting

Wednesday July 9 - Nevada Supreme Court panel conference

Thursday July 10 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Thursday July 10 - Nevada Supreme Court panel conference

June 30, 2008

This Week

Tuesday July 1 10:00 am Nevada Supreme Court oral arguments on ballot issues

Tuesday July 1 1:00 pm Nevada Supreme Court Public Administration Meeting re: ADKT 411

Tuesday July 1 1:30 pm Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice's Subcommittee to Study Mandatory Drug Sentencing Statutes and Substantial Assistance Statute

Thursday July 3 Nevada Supreme Court Opinion Release

Friday July 4 Court Holiday

June 23, 2008

This Week

Monday June 23 - US Supreme Court issues opinions

Tuesday June 24 - Nevada Supreme Court Panel Conference

Wednesday June 25 - US Supreme Court issues opinions

Thursday June 26 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day
Thursday June 26 - Nevada Supreme Court Panel Conference

Friday June 27 - Judicial Council Meeting

June 16, 2008

This Week

Monday, June 16 1:00 p.m. - Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice's Subcommittee to Consider Issues Related to a Study of "Truth in Sentencing."

Wednesday June 18 - State Bar Convention

Thursday June 19 - State Bar Convention
Thursday June 19 - US Supreme Court opinion release day
Thursday June 19 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day

Friday June 20 - State Bar Convention

Saturday June 21 - State Bar Convention

June 10, 2008

This Week: June 9-15

Monday June 9 - the Legislative Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice meets from 9 am to 5 pm
Monday June 9 - US Supreme Court opinion release day

Wednesday June 11 - Nevada Supreme Court oral arguments in Las Vegas

Thursday June 12 - Nevada Supreme Court oral arguments in Las Vegas
Thursday June 12 - US Supreme Court opinion release day
Thursday June 12 - Nevada Supreme Court opinion release day
Thursday June 12 - NACJ Annual Dinner at the Las Vegas Country Club

Friday June 13 - Advisory Commission on the Administration of Justice's Subcommittee on Juvenile Justice meets at 9:30 a.m.
Friday June 13 - Nevada Supreme Court oral arguments in Las Vegas
Friday June 13 - Nevada Supreme Court case management hearing at 1:30 p.m.
Friday June 13 - Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity CLE. Free. 4-6 p.m. at Boyd Law School